Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online


earning your business everyday
New & used vehicles with a full line service & parts dept. Call 765-932-2447 or 866-576-7874 or visit us on the web for more info.

open 7 days! dine-in or carry-out
Open for breakfast at 6 a.m., Mon-Sat. Steak special Fri-Sat. Daily homemade meal specials. 711 N. Main Street in Carthage. 765-565-6078

the caring professionals
Two locations: 7355 S. State Road 109, Knightstown (765-345-7400) and 3406 S. Memorial Dr. in New Castle (765-529-7100)

Call 765-345-5171 for info/quote.

body repair experts
Call 765-345-5380 for info/quote or visit us at 221 W. Main Street

parts for mowers
Call 317-462-1323 or visit us on the web for more info

a family tradition since 1898
Funeral services, monument sales. 130 S. Main Street in Wilkinson. Call 765-781-2435.

Banner Sports

Please refer to our Sports Archives for more links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 Cater Wins Number Three at Mt. Lawn

August 27, 2008 - New Castle resident Terry Cater won for the third time in 2008 by taking the Motion Motors Late Models feature event on Fan Appreciation Night at the Mt. Lawn Speedway.

The 30-lap feature event started 22 late models, with New Castle’s Bill Pierce making his first start on the pole, along side Johnny Fugate of Cambridge City. As the cars entered the short turn on lap three, with Pierce still in the lead, it appeared that another “big one” was about to happen. Pierce was spun out and ended up sitting sideways in the middle of the track with 21 other cars coming right at him.

Three cars, including Miles Sexton of New Castle, L.J. Lines of Dunreith and Tom Nixon of Daleville, made it through the melee with the rest of the field piled up in the turn.

As cars started moving again, only Knightstown’s William Mefford was stuck under the rear end of the car driven by Scott Runion of Mooreland. Some quick work by Latham’s Wrecker removed Runion from the top of Mefford, and both cars were able to restart.

With such a confusing scoring nightmare, official scorer Scott McCambridge decided to go back to the previous lap and restart all cars, with the exception of Pierce, as he scored them on lap two.

On the restart, Sexton took the lead and held it until lap six, when Lines got by on the bottom coming out of the big turn. Lines held on to the top spot for the next four laps, when Mefford took over by passing Lines coming down the backstretch entering the short turn. Mefford led only two laps when Cater made the same move to take the lead entering the short turn.

Cater, who was fast qualifier at 16.626 and started 17th, led the final 18 laps for the win. Mefford finished second, followed by points leader Eric Evans of Greenfield, Kevin Claborn of Cambridge City, Eddie Claborn of Cambridge City, Lines, Runion, Scott Knepley of Greensboro, Sexton and David McConnell of Shirley.

The rest of the field finished with Dean Morris of New Castle in 11th, followed by Fugate, Jeff Marcum of Morristown (who’s car stopped on the last lap while running seventh), Tom Latham of Anderson, Brandon Mefford of Knightstown, Creston Johnson II of New Castle, Joe Woodring of Muncie, Fred Hopkins of New Castle (making his first start in 2008), Nixon, Kent Carson of Richmond, Kevin Sellers of Indianapolis and Pierce.

As a result of his win, Cater picked up 10 points on points-leader Evans to pull within 15 going into the final point races of season Saturday. Kevin Claborn won the Razzles Dash for Cash. There were no heat races in any division because of Fan Appreciation Night festivities.

Kevin Claborn made it look easy again in the Dependable Drywall Thunder Car division He led the final 20 laps for his eighth win in 2008. Claborn finished with a half-lap lead over second place Frankie Oakes of Cambridge City, who was followed by Jameson Owens of Greenfield, Bill Clark of Rushville (who recovered nicely from a spin on lap four), Ed Knott of Muncie, Les Tolliver of Pendleton, Cody Walker of New Castle, Paul Starks of Fortville, Michael Starks of Greenfield and Ryan Amonett of New Castle.

Claborn set fast time at 18.408, and Clark won the Dependable Drywall Dash for Cash.

In the Collins Auto Service Hornet action, Anderson’s Nick Warner won after the leading the final three laps of the 25-lap feature.

Twenty-one cars were scheduled to start the feature, with New Castle’s Josh White the only car not taking the green flag. Vic Pierce led the first three laps, and New Castle firefighter Brad Marcum lead the next four. Jerry Small led lap five, with series points leader Chris Jennings of Richmond taking over on lap six. Jennings led the next 17 laps until Warner got around him on lap 23 and held on for the win. He was followed by Brian Lewis of Lawrence, Keith Morris of Mt Summit, Joyce Dyer of Greenfield, Small, Donnie Matthews of Indianapolis, Courtney Hannah of Cincinnati Ohio, Pierce and Mike Alley of Anderson. Warner set fast time at 19.741 and Morris won the Collins Auto Service Dash for Cash.

After the on-track autograph session held on the main straight away, Gizmo and Hector, two police dogs from Middletown and New Castle police departments, demonstrated their skills on two subjects who were wearing protective gear. Gizmo took down speedway tech man Alan Troxell with a bite to Troxell’s back side. To Gizmo’s and the crowd’s delight, Troxell got up twice and attempted a get away, only to be wrestled to the ground each time by the police K-9.

In the Big Wheel races, the top three in the three-four years-old class were Andrew Evans, Caleb May and Ethan Starks. In the five-six years-old group, DeRay Ford, Jalen Slavey and Madelyn Kuhns were the top three. In the seven-eight years-old group, Antonio Hernandez was the winner, followed by Trevor Cook and Dillan Cones. Powder Puff winners were Donelle Boykin of New Castle and Mary Pierce of Sulphur Springs.

Kenny Boykin of New Castle won the street drags in a 19 95 Ford Probe.

This weekend the 2008 Season Champion races are on tap, with three 50-lap features in all divisions. The carry over from the unclaimed Tail Gunner Jackpot will go to the winner of Motion Motor Late Models feature.


GO TO AUGUST HEADLINES PAGE                                                                                              TOP OF PAGE