Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online


earning your business everyday
New & used vehicles with a full line service & parts dept. Call 765-932-2447 or 866-576-7874 or visit us on the web for more info.

open 7 days! dine-in or carry-out
Open for breakfast at 6 a.m., Mon-Sat. Steak special Fri-Sat. Daily homemade meal specials. 711 N. Main Street in Carthage. 765-565-6078

the caring professionals
Two locations: 7355 S. State Road 109, Knightstown (765-345-7400) and 3406 S. Memorial Dr. in New Castle (765-529-7100)

Call 765-345-5171 for info/quote.

body repair experts
Call 765-345-5380 for info/quote or visit us at 221 W. Main Street

parts for mowers
Call 317-462-1323 or visit us on the web for more info

a family tradition since 1898
Funeral services, monument sales. 130 S. Main Street in Wilkinson. Call 765-781-2435.

Banner Sports

Please refer to our Sports Archives for more links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 Knepley Gets First Win

July 30, 2008 - Greensboro’s Scott Knepley picked up his first Late Model win of 2008 Saturday on Chamber Night at Mt. Lawn Speedway.

A large crowd was on hand for the first annual NCHC Chamber of Commerce night. Fans were treated to Motion Motor Late Models, UMRA Midgets, Dependable Drywall Thunder Cars and Collins Auto Service Hornet racing action.

Twenty late models took the green flag in qualifications, and all but one made the starting line up for the feature. New Castle’s Jason Atkinson was unable to start the feature because of damage he received in a heat race crash.

Miles Sexton took the lead on lap one of the 30-lap feature event and held it the first four laps. On lap five, Eddie Claborn slipped past Sexton down the backstretch and led the next seven laps.

Knepley took over on lap 12 and led the rest of the way. On a double-file restart on lap 14, Knepley and Eric Evans of Greenfield tangled in turn one, sending Evans to the pits with a flat tire.

New Castle’s Terry Cater accepted the Tail Gunner Challenge and started on the tail of the feature. He would have received an extra $550 if he could have won the feature, but finished second.

Cater said after the race, “I needed one more caution or a few more laps and I think I could have gotten around Knepley.”

Following Cater was Eddie Claborn, William Mefford of Knightstown, Evans, Brandon Mefford of Knightstown, Kevin Claborn of Cambridge City, Mark Fesmire of Markleville, Ralph Lane of Greensburg and Scott Runion of Mooreland.

Chad White of Indianapolis finished 11th, followed by Sexton, Kevin Sellers of Indianapolis (one lap down), Creston Johnson, II, of New Castle, Johnny Fugate of Cambridge City, Jeff Marcum of Morristown, Kent Carson of Richmond, Tom Nixon of Daleville and Tom Latham of Anderson.

William Mefford set fast time at 16.674, Knepley won the Razzles Dash for Cash with the heats going to Evans, Marcum and Nixon.

The Dependable Drywall Thunder feature appeared like a repeat of the Founders Day 100, which was held last week. Kevin Claborn and Shirley’s David McConnell battled over the first half of the race, much like they did one week earlier. McConnell took the lead on lap three, after Cody Walker of New Castle and Rushville’s Chris Bolyard led the first two laps.

McConnell and Claborn were dueling side-by-side until the pair got together on lap 14, causing both to spin. They were moved to the rear of the field for the restart. Bill Clark led laps 15-through-17 before Matt Nelson of Indianapolis took over and led the next three.v Claborn moved back to the front for good on lap 22 to take the win. Nelson crossed the line in second, but was disqualified in post-race inspection, giving second to Shirley’s Pam McConnell. She was followed by her husband David McConnel, Clark, Eddie Claborn, Jim Walker of Cambridge City, Paul Starks of Fortville, Michael Starks of Greenfield and Cody Walker. Claborn set fast time in the Thunders at 18.469, David McConnell won the Dependable Drywall Dash for Cash and Claborn and Bolyard won the heats.

Richmond’s Chris Jennings led the final 15 laps of the Collins Auto Service Hornet feature for his fourth win of the season. Nick Warner of Anderson finished second, followed by Brian Lewis of Lawrence, Jerry Small of Arcadia, Kim Lawrence of Greenfield, Donnie Matthews of Anderson, Mike Alley of Anderson, Vic Pierce of New Castle, Zane Fisher of Losantsville and Josh White of New Castle. Jennings had fast time at 19.65 and won the Collins Dash for Cash, while Warner and Lawrence won the heats.

In UMRA midget action, 24 cars were attendance with three heats and a feature.

The three heat winners were #26 Bobby Walton, #90 Patrick Wolf and #25 Jason Willis. Only 22 cars started the feature event.

Will Nedderman, a previous U.M.R.A. driver, started on the pole with #14 Travis Welpott on the outside. Nedderman took the lead and the top six cars were nose to tail with each one trying to trade spaces in the corners. But no one going to give an inch. Jason Willis started on the first lap fifth, and then on lap two was fourth. By lap four he was third, and the #25 car made his next move on lap 12 when he passed Oogie Goff.

That was all Willis needed, because by lap 13 he was the leader.

In the mean time, Terry Goff was on his own mission, keeping Willis well in sight. Willis proved to be too much and walked away with the win. Willis had been plagued with mechanical issues several times while leading features, but this time managed to finish the race without engine troubles.

This weekend the UMRA midgets return to Mt. Lawn to join the Motion Motor Late Models, Dependable Drywall Thunder Cars, Collins Auto Service Hornets and Mini Cups. For more information log on to the Mt. Lawn website or call the track phone at 765-521-4244.


GO TO JULY HEADLINES PAGE                                                                                              TOP OF PAGE