Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online


earning your business everyday
New & used vehicles with a full line service & parts dept. Call 765-932-2447 or 866-576-7874 or visit us on the web for more info.

open 7 days! dine-in or carry-out
Open for breakfast at 6 a.m., Mon-Sat. Steak special Fri-Sat. Daily homemade meal specials. 711 N. Main Street in Carthage. 765-565-6078

the caring professionals
Two locations: 7355 S. State Road 109, Knightstown (765-345-7400) and 3406 S. Memorial Dr. in New Castle (765-529-7100)

Call 765-345-5171 for info/quote.

body repair experts
Call 765-345-5380 for info/quote or visit us at 221 W. Main Street

parts for mowers
Call 317-462-1323 or visit us on the web for more info

a family tradition since 1898
Funeral services, monument sales. 130 S. Main Street in Wilkinson. Call 765-781-2435.

Banner Sports

Please refer to our Sports Archives for more links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 Cater Takes 38th Raintree 100

July 9, 2008 - New Castle resident Terry Cater survived flat tires, spins and being forced to the tail for a restart on two occasions to win the 38th running of the Raintree 100 at Mt. Lawn Speedway.

Cater also won an all-aluminium racing floor jack from O’Reilly Auto Parts for setting fast time of the evening in qualifications. Cater started 18th in the field of 23 Motion Motors Late Models, and got the lead for good on lap 73 of the 100-lap spectacular. He had led just one previous lap, that coming on number 42.

Richmond’s Kent Carson led the first lap from his outside front row starting position. David Fox II, of Markleville, became the first car out on lap two after experiencing a severe vibration in his car.

Cambridge City’s Johnny Fugate got the lead from Carson on lap two and led the next three laps. Knightstown’s Randy Anderson moved in front on lap five, and was able to hold the top spot until Cambridge City’s Eddie Claborn took over on lap 12.

Jeff Marcum’s engine quit on lap six, forcing him out of the race. Kevin Claborn was retired on lap 11 with a blown clutch.

Eddie Claborn started to pull away from the field after taking the lead on lap 12, but veteran LJ Lines, of Dunreith, moved to second on lap 15 from his ninth-place starting position. Lines began to reel in leader Claborn until lap 26, when Knightstown’s Scott Knepley passed Lines for second. Knepley was able to overtake Claborn for the lead on lap 32, with Cater running in second in hot pursuit.

Cater took the lead on lap 42 just before he and Knepley tangled in the short turn, sending both to the pits with flat tires. That gave the led to Lines on lap 43, with Knightstown’s Brandon Mefford running second and Eric Evans of Greenfield in third.

Lines led until lap 57, when Evans, who had spun earlier on lap 14, steadily moved back through the field to take the lead.

Evans then led the next 16 laps until Cater took over the top spot for good on lap 73. Cater and Evans battled side-by-side over the next several laps until Evans was forced to the pits once again with a flat tire on lap 85.

Cater then cruised the final 15 laps for the first Raintree victory of his career, dating back to the late 1970s.

“I had this race won a couple of times before in that pink car,” Cater said, referring to the pink No. 2 Camaro owned by the Lenceski brothers, Rich and Larry of New Castle. “I knew I had a pretty good lead there at the end, so I really let up, and it is a good thing I did because my right rear tire was almost to the cord.”

Brandon Mefford finished second, followed by Evans, who got around Knepley on the last lap, Knepley, Anderson, David McConnell of Shirley, Tom Nixon of Daleville, Scott Runion of Mooreland, Anthony Davis of New Castle, Carson, Kevin Sellers of Indianapolis, Eddie Claborn, Fugate, Tom Latham of Anderson. Lines, Miles Sexton of New Castle, Dale Amonett of New Castle, William Mefford, Dean Morris of New Castle, Ralph Lane of Greensburg, Kevin Claborn, Marcum and Fox.

Fox won the Sloan Electric, of Knightstown, first man out award, and Cater also picked up the Sloan Electric hard-charger award for improving himself the most positions in the race.

There were no dashes or heat races in the Late Model division. Soon after the post race celebrations were completed, the largest crowd in recent years was treated to giant fireworks display put on by International Fireworks of Indianapolis.

In the Dependable Drywall Thunders, Kevin Claborn picked up the win in the feature race. Cody Walker led the first six laps, giving way on lap nine to Ryan Amonett, who led the next three.

Claborn took command on lap 12 and led the rest of the way for the win. He was followed by Bill Clark of Rushville, Matt Nelson of Greenwood, Ed Knott of Muncie, Nick Warner of Anderson, Mike Vaccaro of Middletown, Eddie King of Kennard, Frankie Oakes of Cambridge City, Jameson Owens of Greenfield and Ray Evans of Greenfield.

Knott set fast time at 18.7, while Clark won the Dependable Drywall Dash for Cash with Amonett, Vaccaro and Chris Bolyard of Rushville winning the heats.

Nick Warner of Anderson won again in the Collins Auto Service Hornet division, leading the last five laps of the race for the win. Chris Jennings of Richmond finished second, followed by Jerry Small of Arcadia, Tim Dilg of Norwalk, Ohio, Rus Humes of Middletown, Todd Yarberry of Anderson, Ryan Amonett, Josh Neal of Indianapolis, Kim Lawrence of Greenfield and Jacob Runion of Mooreland. Shirley resident Ricky Skinner, making his first start ever at Mt. Lawn, finished 17th.

Jennings had fast time at 19.868 and won the Collins Dash for Cash, with Neal, Dilg and Mike Alley winning the heats.

This weekend, Late Models, Thunders, Hornets Mini Cups and Street Drags return to Mt. Lawn Speedway.


GO TO JULY HEADLINES PAGE                                                                                              TOP OF PAGE