Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online


earning your business everyday
New & used vehicles with a full line service & parts dept. Call 765-932-2447 or 866-576-7874 or visit us on the web for more info.

open 7 days! dine-in or carry-out
Open for breakfast at 6 a.m., Mon-Sat. Steak special Fri-Sat. Daily homemade meal specials. 711 N. Main Street in Carthage. 765-565-6078

the caring professionals
Two locations: 7355 S. State Road 109, Knightstown (765-345-7400) and 3406 S. Memorial Dr. in New Castle (765-529-7100)

Call 765-345-5171 for info/quote.

body repair experts
Call 765-345-5380 for info/quote or visit us at 221 W. Main Street

parts for mowers
Call 317-462-1323 or visit us on the web for more info

a family tradition since 1898
Funeral services, monument sales. 130 S. Main Street in Wilkinson. Call 765-781-2435.

Banner Sports

Please refer to our Sports Archives for more links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 Driver Ends Up in Creek at Mt. Lawn

September 12, 2007 - In the second Hornet feature of the day at the Mt. Lawn Speedway Stock Car Extravaganza, Dallas Green of Indianapolis made it all the way into Duck Creek, which runs along the west side of the speedway.

On lap 19, Green and Nate Lummis got together coming out of turn one, and both cars left the racetrack. Lummis stopped just short of a large tree, but Green ended his ride in the middle of the creek. Neither driver was injured in the accident.

Green knocked a few holes in the floorboard of his car to let the water out and started his engine to return to the race, but too much water caused the engine to misfire and forced him from the race. Terry Cater won the Late Model 100-lapper after taking the lead from Jeff Marcum on lap 14. Cater led the next 44 laps, only to give up the lead to Shirley’s David McConnell. McConnell led the next 10 laps, but Cater took the lead for good on lap 69.

Greensboro’s Scott Knepley finished second after spinning on lap 54 and being sent to the tail. Knepley was followed by McConnell, Randy Anderson of Knightstown, David Fox II, Scott Runion, Tom Nixon, Johnny Fugate, Brandon Mefford of Knightstown, Doug Hinshaw, Bill Pierce, Jeff Marcum, Kevin Claborn, Tony Broyles, LJ Lines of Lewisville, Dean Morris and Creston Johnson II.

In Street Stock action, Eric Evans won the 100-lap feature, taking the lead on lap two from Ronnie Phipps. Evans led until lap 27, when Chuck Cook took over and led the next 11 laps.

Evans retook the lead on lap 38 and led the rest of the way for the win. Cook finished second, followed by Calvin Parham of Knightstown, Mike Burgess, Abe Puckett, Bobby Brown, Danny Acrey II, Chris Teepe, Phipps, Brian Slavey and Mike Phipps.

The Thunder car feature saw six different leaders, with Kevin Claborn leading the final 31 laps for the win. Mike Vaccaro led the first lap, giving way to Ed Knott, who led the next 11.

Cory Cook led until lap 22, when Greensboro’s Jason Clark took over for the next seven. Eric Evans took the lead from Clark on lap 29, and appeared to be on his way to a second win of the day. Claborn finally worked his way through traffic and passed Evans on lap 70. The final 31 laps was a duel between Claborn, Evans and Clark. Claborn won, followed by Clark, Evans, Brett Marcum, Cory Cook, Tony Stewart, Rob Wyman, Rodney Hammonds of Carthage, Knott and Chris Bolyard.

In the first Hornet feature, Jerry Small won for the first time this year, leading the final 16 laps for the win. Kenny Lee finished second followed, by Aaron Gray, Joyce Dyer, Keith Morris, Brian Lewis, Chris Oldham of Shirley, Jacob Johnson of Wilkinson, Kim Lawrence and Mark Dulworth.

In the second Hornet race, Kevin Claborn, who was driving in his fourth feature event of the day, started on the pole and led the first 27 laps. On lap 28, Lee took over the top spot and led the rest of the way for the win. Claborn finished second with Dyer third, Pam McConnell of Shirley, making her first Hornet start, fourth, Small fifth, Everett Lawton sixth, Morris seventh, Dulworth eighth, Gray ninth and Jeff Sorrell 10th.

In street drags, Kevin Parks won the car division and Pam McConnell won the truck eliminations.

The next race at Mt Lawn will be on September 22, with the UMRA midget returning for their final race of the year for a 50-lap championship race. Mt Lawn stock cars will also be on the final program of the year.