Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online


earning your business everyday
New & used vehicles with a full line service & parts dept. Call 765-932-2447 or 866-576-7874 or visit us on the web for more info.

open 7 days! dine-in or carry-out
Open for breakfast at 6 a.m., Mon-Sat. Steak special Fri-Sat. Daily homemade meal specials. 711 N. Main Street in Carthage. 765-565-6078

the caring professionals
Two locations: 7355 S. State Road 109, Knightstown (765-345-7400) and 3406 S. Memorial Dr. in New Castle (765-529-7100)

Call 765-345-5171 for info/quote.

body repair experts
Call 765-345-5380 for info/quote or visit us at 221 W. Main Street

parts for mowers
Call 317-462-1323 or visit us on the web for more info

a family tradition since 1898
Funeral services, monument sales. 130 S. Main Street in Wilkinson. Call 765-781-2435.

Banner Sports

Please refer to our Sports Archives for more links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 Scott Knepley Wins Late Models; William Mefford Claims Points Title

September 5, 2007 - William Mefford and Scott Knepley both ended the points season on positive notes Saturday night at the Mt. Lawn Speedway.

Mefford wrapped up the Motion Motors Late Models points chase, while Knepley won the race in a dramatic night of racing at the track just north of Greensboro.

In the Motion Motors Late Models, Knightstown’s William Mefford came into the night’s action with a 34-point lead over New Castle’s Terry Cater. By virtue of being third quick in time trials and seventh in his heat race, Mefford needed only one more point in the feature to mathematically eliminate Cater. He came through in the clutch with a fourth-place finish, wrapping up the points title.

The 50-lap feature started with Greenfield’s Chad White taking the lead from the pole position and holding it for two laps. Entering lap three, White went off the short turn into the run-off area and was not able to return to the race.

Shirley’s David McConnell took over the lead on lap three, and held the top spot until lap 16. McConnell and Greensboro’s Scott Knepley battled into turn one, only to come up on the lapped car of Tom Latham. Latham and McConnell got together, forcing McConnell out of the race.

Knepley took the lead on lap 17 and led the rest of the way for the win. Cater and Doug Hinshaw of New Castle got together on lap six in the short turn, sending Hinshaw to the pits for good and Cater to the pits to replace a punctured tire. Dean Morris of New Castle brought out the next yellow on lap 12 with a blown radiation hose. Latham was black flagged on lap 18 and LJ Lines went to the pits for good on lap 20 with a broken water pump.

Kevin Claborn finished second, followed by Cater, Mefford, David Fox II of Markleville, Randy Anderson of Knightstown, Johnny Fugate of Cambridge City, Miles Sexton of New Castle, Tom Nixon of Daleville and Daniel Nall of Avon. The rest of finishing order showed Bill Pierce of New Castle in 11th, followed by Lines, Latham, McConnell, Scott Runion of Mooreland, Morris, Hinshaw and White.

Fast time went to Lines; Mefford won the Razzles Dash for Cash with McConnell and Runion winning the heats. In the second heat, Jeff Marcum took care of the county mosquitoes when he exploded the engine of his mount on lap six, sending a huge smoke screen that hung over the speedway for several minutes.

With the Dependable Drywall Thunder Car point chase already wrapped up by Greenfield’s Eric Evans, 18 cars took to the track to settle the final point race of the season. Doing double duty for the evening, David McConnell took the lead at the start of the race and led the first 14 laps. McConnell and teammate Eddie King were both forced out of the race on lap 14, giving the lead to another double participant, Kevin Claborn. Claborn led the next 10 laps until Evans took the lead. But his was short-lived. as Claborn retook the lead for good on the next lap.

Evans held on for second, followed by Brett Marcum of Morristown, Chuck Cook of New Castle, Kyle Evans of Greenfield, Jason Clark of Greensboro, Mike Vaccaro of Middletown, Chris Chesher of Centerville, Cory Cook of New Castle and Jeff Marcum to round out the top 10. The rest of the field saw Bill Clark of Rushville finish 11th, followed by Ronnie Williams of New Castle, Cody Walker of New Castle, Chris Bolyard of Rushville, David McConnell, King, Ray Evans of Greenfield and Pam McConnell of Shirley.

Fast time in time trials went to Claborn, who also won the Dependable Drywall Dash for Cash. with Eric and Ray Evans winning the heats.

The point champion in the Collins Auto Service Hornet division was not decided until the last lap of the 50-lap feature.

Coming into the night’s action, Richmond’s Chris Jennings led Keith Morris of Mt. Summit by four points and Les Tolliver of Pendleton by 18 points. In qualification, Kenny Lee set fast time with Tolliver second and Morris third quick. That gave Tolliver eight points and Morris six. Then in the heats, Tolliver won the first with Morris taking second and Jennings finished sixth. Going into the feature, Morris held a six-point lead on Jennings and an 11-point lead on Tolliver.

Mark Dulworth led the first three laps of the feature and then Jennings took over the lea. He would hold that until lap 15, when Joyce Dyer took over. Jennings fought back and regained the lead for good on lap 29.

With Jennings in the lead, Morris needed to finish no worse than fourth to win the title. Morris and Tolliver battled side-by-side over the final 19 laps, with Aaron Gray of New Castle and Nate Lummis of Anderson waiting for Morris and Tolliver to make a mistake and give up their positions. On final lap, Tolliver led Morris by a fender, with Gray right on their bumpers. Morris was able to inch ahead of Tolliver on the final lap, giving him third behind Jennings and Dyer, and the 2007-point championship.

Tolliver finished fourth, followed by Gray, Lummis, Kim Lawrence of Greenfield, Jeff Sorrell of New Castle, Casey David of Greenwood and Lenny Tungate of New Castle, driving for John Massengale. Eleventh went to Mark Dulworth of Middletown, Jerry Small of Arcadia, Brian Lewis of Lawrence, Kenny Lee of Anderson, Josh Neal of Indianapolis, Cody Rhinhart of Carthage, Jacob Johnson of Wilkinson and Doug Sorrell of New Castle. Fast time went to Lee; Morris won the Collins Dash for Cash, with Tolliver and Tungate winning the heats.

Kelly Rinker beat Scott Razor in the Street Drag finals.

The Second annual Stock Car Extravaganza will take place this weekend at Mt. Lawn, with Saturday featuring practice from noon until 6 p.m. The event will feature Street Drag Nationals, with five-foot trophies going to the car and the truck divisions, respectively, and an appearance of the Dayton Ohio Extreme Motorcycle group.

To end the festivities Saturday evening, the DCB Band will be performing in the infield until 11 p.m. On Sunday, qualifications and 400 laps of feature racing will cap off the day’s activities, with racing getting underway at 2 p.m. Late Models, Thunder Cars and Street Stocks will be running 100 lap features, with Hornets competing in two 50-lap events.