Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online


earning your business everyday
New & used vehicles with a full line service & parts dept. Call 765-932-2447 or 866-576-7874 or visit us on the web for more info.

open 7 days! dine-in or carry-out
Open for breakfast at 6 a.m., Mon-Sat. Steak special Fri-Sat. Daily homemade meal specials. 711 N. Main Street in Carthage. 765-565-6078

the caring professionals
Two locations: 7355 S. State Road 109, Knightstown (765-345-7400) and 3406 S. Memorial Dr. in New Castle (765-529-7100)

Call 765-345-5171 for info/quote.

body repair experts
Call 765-345-5380 for info/quote or visit us at 221 W. Main Street

parts for mowers
Call 317-462-1323 or visit us on the web for more info

a family tradition since 1898
Funeral services, monument sales. 130 S. Main Street in Wilkinson. Call 765-781-2435.

Banner Sports

Please refer to our Sports Archives for more links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 Mefford Grabs 37th Raintree 100


July 11, 2007 - The largest crowd in many years saw William Mefford of Knightstown win the 37th running of the Raintree 100 Saturday night at the Mt. Lawn Speedway located 5 miles west of New Castle.

LJ Lines of Lewisville started on the pole and jumped to a sizeable lead on second place Randy Anderson of Knightstown when Randy Amonett brought out the first caution of the race on lap sixteen. Amonett coasted to a stop just off the first turn with a broken rear end. On the restart Lines once again built a big lead over Anderson who gave up second place to David McConnell of Shirley on lap 29. McConnell began to reel in Lines closing the gap to a car length by lap 34. On lap 35 fast qualifier of the evening David Fox II of Markleville brought out the second yellow of the race when he lost his transmission and was forced to retire for the evening. On the restart McConnell and Lines dueled side by side for the next five laps with McConnell actually leading lap 41. Lines was able to regain the lead from McConnell and Terry Cater of New Castle moved into second on lap 42.

The next yellow flew on lap 43 when Scott Knepley of Greensboro broke an axel and stopped on the track in turn one. On the restart Lines and Cater ran side by side with Lines gaining the upper hand and led until Cater dove underneath entering the first turn. Cater appeared to be on his way to the win but LJ Lines brought out the next caution of the race on lap 95 when he cut a tire in the short turn after contact with Mefford. On the restart Cater and Mefford started side by side with Mefford gaining the upper hand after Cater spun in turn one. McConnell finished second followed by Ray Wimmer of New Castle, Jason Fullen of Anderson, Kevin Claborn of Cambridge City, Jeff Marcum of Morristown, Doug Hinshaw of New Castle, Cater, Tom Gossar of Markleville, Anderson, Chad White of Greenfield, Lines, Creston Johnson II of New Castle, Scott Runion of Mooreland, Dean Morris of New Castle, Tom Latham of Anderson, Kent Carson of Richmond, Dean Baker of Modoc, Knepley, Fox, Jason Atkinson of New Castle and Amonett.

There was no dash or heat races in the Motion Motor Late Models.

In the Dependable Drywall Thunder Cars Eric Evans of Greenfield took the twenty-five-lap feature. Evans started dead last in the twenty-car field and took the lead for good from Jameson Owens of Greenfield in lap six. Evans did get pressure from Jason Clark of Shirley after Clark moved to second on lap ten. Ryan Amonett of New Castle took second from Clark on lap 18 but did not have enough to overtake Evans over the final eight laps. Clark, Johnny Magee of Carthage, Owens, Jason Thompson of Shirley, Eddie King of Kennard, John Heaston of Greenfield, Bill Clark of Rushville and Tom Nixon of Daleville. Evans set a new track record in time trial at 18.491 and won the Dependable Drywall Dash for Cash while Amonett and Jack Claborn of Cambridge City won the heats.

Twenty-four Collins Auto Service Hornets took the green flag just before midnight and made it worthwhile for the fans that remained for the final race of the evening. Russ Humes of Middletown won for the first time in ’07 taking the lead from Kim Lawrence of Greenfield on lap sixteen and led the rest of the way. Les Tolliver of Pendleton pressured Humes over the final six laps to finished second followed by Jerry Small of Arcadia, Chris Jennings of Richmond, Aaron Gray of New Castle, Joyce Dyer of Greenfield, Chris Oldham of Shirley, Jeremy Baker of Modoc, Kenny Lee of Anderson and Lawrence. Fast time went to Tolliver at 20.031; Keith Morris of Mt Summit won the Collins Dash for Cash with the heat going to Lee, Humes and Baker.

The Mini Cup feature went to Brian Ayers of Carmel followed by Geoff Gerline of Shelbyville, Charles Colbert of Noblesville, Carl Colbert of Noblesville Troy and Patrick Morris of Arcadia. Ayers also won the Mini Cup heat.

Another exciting Street Drag final saw Gary Branscum of New Castle overcome a six-length head start by David McConnell. The win was Branscum’s third of the year in his Mustang.




GO TO JULY HEADLINES PAGE                                                                                              TOP OF PAGE