Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online


earning your business everyday
New & used vehicles with a full line service & parts dept. Call 765-932-2447 or 866-576-7874 or visit us on the web for more info.

open 7 days! dine-in or carry-out
Open for breakfast at 6 a.m., Mon-Sat. Steak special Fri-Sat. Daily homemade meal specials. 711 N. Main Street in Carthage. 765-565-6078

the caring professionals
Two locations: 7355 S. State Road 109, Knightstown (765-345-7400) and 3406 S. Memorial Dr. in New Castle (765-529-7100)

Call 765-345-5171 for info/quote.

body repair experts
Call 765-345-5380 for info/quote or visit us at 221 W. Main Street

parts for mowers
Call 317-462-1323 or visit us on the web for more info

a family tradition since 1898
Funeral services, monument sales. 130 S. Main Street in Wilkinson. Call 765-781-2435.

Banner News

Please refer to our News Archives for more news links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 KHS Seniors Receive Awards

May 21, 2008 - Knightstown High School helds its annual Senior Awards ceremony on Thursday, May 8. The following students earned year-end awards:


All A’s Chevron: Laura McCaffrey, Diana Trautmann

Academic Letter Jacket: Kristina Deffinger

Academic Honors Diploma: Brittney Carter, Joseph Haase, Kynten Hannon, Jenna Hermida, Cody Hibbert, Zachary Hinds, Laura McCaffrey, Chad Oakes, Leah Saunders, Brandy Smith, Sarah Tabb, Katie Tompkins, Diana Trautmann, Emily Trent

Perfect Attendance (4 Years): Josh Leece, Nicole Newell, Chad Oakes

Valedictorian: Diana Trautmann

Salutatorian: Shelby True

Clark School Services Herff Jones Principal’s Award: Kynten Hannon

Hoosier Scholars: To be announced

KHS Alumni Association Scholarships: Joseph Haase, Sarah Tabb; college recipients: Alex Wilson, Amy Kendall, Ally Chew, Ruth Zeilinga

John & Ruth Craven Scholarship: Joseph Haase

Allen Craven Scholarship: Alicia Meeks

Cary, Scovell, & Craven Scholarship: Sarah Haase

Judy Collins Sutton English Award: Laura McCaffrey

Knightstown Chamber of Commerce: Sarah Tabb

American Legion David Newkirk Scholarship: Chad Oakes, Kynten Hannon

American Legion Women’s Auxiliary: Jenna Hermida

CTA (Classroom Teachers Association) Scholarship: Megan Grant, Sarah Tabb

Knightstown Retired Teachers Association: Jamie Beatty

Dorothy Wright Memorial Scholarship: Leah Saunders, Kynten Hannon

CA Beard School Board Scholarship: Joseph Haase

Ercell Bever Jr. Scholarship: Kynten Hannon, Leah Saunders

Business Professional Women’s Scholarship: Sarah Tabb

Knightstown Optimist Club: Claire Wilhite, Leah Saunders

Knightstown Lion’s Club: Jospeh Haase

KHS Volleyball Scholarship: Megan Grant

Psi Iota Xi Isabelle Sigler Memorial Scholarship: Joseph Haase, college: Ally Chew, Sarah Haase, Alicia Meeks, Heather Wilkerson, Ruth Zeilinga

Psi Iota Xi Wanda Smith Award: Diana Trautmann

Psi Iota Xi Fine Arts Scholarship: Jenna Hermida

Psi Iota Xi Honorary/Retired & Active Members Scholarship: Sarah Tabb

Alpha Zeta Chapter of Kappa Kappa Kappa Scholarship: Joseph Haase, Sarah Tabb, Kynten Hannon

Alpha Zeta Chapter of Kappa Kappa Kappa Vocational Scholarship: Janice Ortman

Alpha Zeta Chapter of Kappa Kappa Kappa Valedictorian Award: Diana Trautmann

Alpha Zeta Chapter of Kappa Kappa Kappa Salutatorian Award: Shelby True

Alpha Zeta Chapter of Kappa Kappa Kappa All A’s Award (7 semesters): To be announced

Reeves Scholarship: Laura McCaffrey

John & Helen Dickey Scholarship: Sarah Tabb

Luther & Marian Pidgeon Scholarship: Joseph Haase

RCCF ACE/Rita Yager Scholarship: Kynten Hannon

HCCF Jessica Hale Memorial Scholarship: Joseph Haase

Pauline Dickerson Scholarship: Ryan Halcomb

Joseph White Scholarship: Janice Ortman

HCCF Veteran’s of Foreign Wars Post 1282: Joseph Haase

Henry County Memorial Hospital Sylvira Flanagan Koons: Leah Saunders

HCCF Opportunities Unlimited: Sarah Tabb

HCCF Lilly Endowment: Diana Trautmann

TASC Recognition: Diana Trautmann

Ameriana Bank Outstanding Business Student: Katie Tompkins

Hayes Nursing Scholarship: Sarah Badgley, Leah Saunders

Mid Eastern Indiana Association of Realtors: Nicole Newell

Tweedy Lumber & Industrial Tech Award: Daniel Griffin

Altrusa Senior Girl: Laura McCaffrey

DAR Good Citizen: Megan Grant

Embarq Leaders of Tomorrow: Kynten Hannon

Anonymous Scholarship: Sarah Tabb

Military Enlistment: Marines - Katie King, Chris Hines, Shane Sirosky; Army National Guard - Kyle Edington

Franklin College scholarship: Megan Grant

Purdue University scholarship: Joe Haase

Indiana University East scholarship: Zach Hinds

Anderson University scholarship: Nicole Newell

Butler University scholarship: Diana Trautmann

Panther Pride Awards: Ryan Emard, Cody Hibbert, Cameron Mohler, Jamie Beatty, Jordan Bearhope Teacher: Mr. Salter Parent: Becky Hibbert

Foreign Exchange Student Recognition: Mei Tak Ip (Christi), Kanchanit Bangthamai (Nat)

FFA Agriculture Scholarship: Janice Ortman, Courtney White, Amanda Winship

FACS Nutrition 1 & 2 Outstanding Seniors: Mei Tak Ip (Christi)

FACS Foundations in Culinary Arts: Kayla Sharp, Heather Gross

FACS Outstanding Seniors: Jake Cullison

French 4 years of Excellence: Sarah Tabb, Ashley Spence

French All A’s: Kristina Deffinger, Alyssa Gaddis, Mei Tak Ip (Christi), Janice Ortman, Leah Saunders, Jenna Hermida

Completed 3 years Spanish 1 year French: Cameron Mohler, Leah Saunders

Completed 4 years Spanish ½ year French: Samantha Taylor

Completed 5 years of Foreign Language: Kristina Deffinger, Jenna Hermida, Alyssa Gaddis

Outstanding Student 3 ½ years of French: Heather Gross

Outstanding Student 4 years of Spanish: Kristina Deffinger, Jenna Hermida, Cody Hibbert, Samantha Taylor, Alyssa Gaddis, Mike Hall, Laura McCaffrey, Diana Trautmann, Megan Grant, Joseph Haase, Chad Oakes, Amanda Winship

Outstanding Spanish 1 Students: Heather Gross

English 12 CP Outstanding Achievement: Kynten Hannon, Alyssa Gaddis

English 12 AP Outstanding Achievement: Diana Trautmann

Yearbook Outstanding Achievement: Megan Grant

Language Arts Outstanding Senior: Diana Trautmann

Speech/Drama - Best Actor: Cameron Mohler

Speech/Drama - Best Actress: Sarah Tabb

Outstanding Student Speech Team: Laua McCaffrey, Sarah Tabb

Outstanding Student Speech Class: Cameron Mohler

Physical Education Outstanding Effort: Matt Bledsoe, Joe Haase, Josh Leece, Brett Morris, Justin Sanders, Rayburn Steinwachs, Jordan Bearhope, Trey McColley

Social Studies - Government Outstanding Achievement: Heather Gross

Psychology Outstanding Achievement: Jenna Hermida, Sarah Tabb, Diana Trautmann

Sociology Outstanding Achievement: Diana Trautmann, Kristina Deffinger, Ashley Spence, Jenna Hermida, Sarah Tabb, Alyssa Gaddis

Economics Outstanding Achievement: Katrina Kunkel

US History Outstanding Achievement: Christi Ip, Shelby True, Alyssa Gaddis

World History Outstanding Achievement: Joe Haase, Katrina Kunkel, Alyssa Gaddis, Laura McCaffrey

Science Outstanding Senior: Brittney Carter

Outstanding Achievement Chemistry 1: Shelby True

Outstanding Achievement Chemistry 2: Brittney Carter

Art - Top Student: Sarah Tabb

Academic Super Bowl Participants: Kynten Hannon, Megan Grant, Zach Hinds, Emily Trent, Katie Tompkins, Shane Sirosky

Business - Web Page Design Outstanding Senior: Brittney Carter


GO TO MAY HEADLINES PAGE                                                                                              TOP OF PAGE