Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online


earning your business everyday
New & used vehicles with a full line service & parts dept. Call 765-932-2447 or 866-576-7874 or visit us on the web for more info.

all your outdoor needs
New & used equip, parts, service, clothing. Call 765-345-9036.

Call 765-345-5171 for info/quote.

body repair experts
Call 765-345-5380 for info/quote or visit us at 221 W. Main Street

parts for mowers
Call 317-462-1323 or visit us on the web for more info

local trash pickup
Trash pickup, aggregate production, hot mix materials, and more. Call 800-453-5575.

Banner News

Please refer to our News Archives for more news links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 School Board Candidate Filing Deadline Jan. 23-Feb. 22

January 2, 2008 - Three weeks from today will mark the start of the filing period for persons interested in running for one of the four seats on the Charles A. Beard School Board that will be up for election in May.

Persons wishing to run for school board in the May 6 election will need to file a petition of nomination with the clerk of the Henry Circuit Court between January 23 and noon on February 22. Indiana statute requires these petitions to be signed by the number of voters equal to two percent of the total vote cast at the last election for secretary of state in the election district that the candidate seeks to represent. While the clerk's office will be able to tell prospective candidates how many signatures are needed, the number is not expected to exceed 30.

Of the four CAB School Board seats that will be up for election, two represent Wayne Township and there is one each from Greensboro Township and Rush County's Ripley Township. These seats are currently held by Board President Mike Fruth (Ripley Twp.), Debi Ware (Greensboro Twp.), Leah Kopp (Wayne Twp.) and Larry Selvidge (Wayne Twp.).

The four year terms of office for three of the candidates who win in May will begin July 1. The fourth candidate, however, the one running for the Wayne Township seat held by Kopp, will not take office until July 2009, due to this seat being a "lag" seat. Although school board candidates must reside within the township they wish to represent, all voters within CAB's boundaries are eligible to vote for all members of the board, not just the ones representing the voters' particular township or district of residence. The CAB School Board's other three seats will be up for election in May 2010. Those seats are now held by Vice President Wade Beatty (Ripley Twp.), Kevin Knott (Wayne Twp.) and Ron Womack (Greensboro Twp.).

(Coverage of the December 19 meeting of the CAB School Board will be included in next week's Banner. - Ed.)


GO TO JANUARY HEADLINES PAGE                                                                                              TOP OF PAGE