Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online

How Time Flies in Sports




 25 Years Ago, Jennifer Wilfong Signed with IU


Knightstown High School senior Jennifer Wilfong signed a letter of intent to play basketball at Indiana University. Jennifer started for three years for the Lady Panthers, averaging more than 25 points per game her senior year and leading Knightstown to a record of 18-2. She also played on the 1980 Lady Panther team that won the sectional and regional.

The Knightstown Home Optimist Club grade school basketball team won three straight games in the New Castle Salvation Army League for fourth and fifth graders. Members of the team are Jason Kopp, Jeff Haase, Todd Jones, Kevin White, Brett South, Curt Durnil, Bobby Hamblin, Chris Roberts, Mike Hooker and Chris Bundy.

1982 winter sports award winners at Knightstown High School included Mark Lawrence, winner of the Carroll Award for basketball. Wrestlers Bruce Shelton and Steve Turpin won for most pins and most takedowns respectively. The Outstanding Wrestler award was presented to Louis Baker. Jeff Lewis and Chris Taylor also won varsity basketball awards, while Jeff Griggs, Pat Spearsk and Bryan Peggs also won basketball awards. Jennifer Wilfong, Diane Zinkan and Susan Koors won girls basketball awards.

Rob Florea, Roy Andrews and Brian Jones were basketball award winners for Eastern Hancock. Joe Havlin, Monte Bradley and Ron Vail won Royal wrestling awards, while Havlin and Dave Dunbar both were honored because they qualified for the state finals.



Knightstown High School’s chess team qualified for the state competition level by winning a regional level competition among 30 schools at Arsenal Tech last week. The team is comprised of Jeff Jackson, Larry Blankenship, Terry Blankenship and Butch Gregory. The team is coached by Bruce Marks. In all, more than 150 schools started out in the competition, and just eight remain.



The Indiana High School Athletic Association has joined in with the National Basketball Committee in abolishing the dunk shot. Reasons include the defensive players have no real chance of defending the shot, and player injuries have been reported while attempting the shot.

Area coaches Bud King of Carthage, Duane Queener of Spiceland, Dan Kile of Knightstown and Tom Jones of Eastern Hancock said they disagreed with the no dunking rule. Lewisville coach Bert Lacey said he didn’t care either way, because his team didn’t have anyone on the roster who could dunk it.

Knightstown’s varsity track and baseball teams will soon begin play, and both figure to have stellar seasons. Track team members include Richard Cassidy, Tim Gann, Jim McCall, Joe Thompkins, Ken Schweizer, John Masters, Ron Dick, Gene Bundy, Matt Rodewald, Steve Leavelle, Randy Litten, Mark McFarland, Tom Mills, Mike McDonald, Joe Hamm, Allen Van Duyn, Bob Thompson, Rick Tribbey and Mike Trent.



The midget race track in Charlottesville, originally constructed two years ago by James Herkless Sr., has been sold to a group of businessmen in the Greensboro area. They group said they will tear down the track and relocated in to a rural area north of Greensboro. The track will become part of Mt. Lawn Speedway.




RETURN TO HOW TIME FLIES in SPORTS MAIN PAGE                                                                        TOP OF PAGE