Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online

How Time Flies in News

Please refer to the How Time Flies in News main page for more column links or hit your "back" button to go to your previous page.




 John Fox Named KVFD Fireman of the Year in 1983


Two rural Knightstown residents were killed in a tragic automobile accident last week. Beverly E. Riddle, 34, and William Hughes, 31, were traveling in opposite directions on CR 550 South when their vehicles collided head-on.

John Fox, Knightstown’s 1983 Volunteer Fireman of the Year, was named the 10th District American Legion Firefighter of the Year during the district meeting in Richmond. Fox is now eligible for the honor of Indiana Volunteer Firefighter of the Year, which will be announced in July at the American Legion state convention. Fox has been a Knightstown volunteer fireman for 20 years.

The century-old Elias Hinshaw building, located at 16 W. Main Street in Knightstown, has been listed on the Indiana State Register of Historic Sites and Structures. The building, an example of Italianate architecture, is currently the location of local attorney Pat Goodspeed’s office. It is the only example in Indiana on the Old National Road of the Italianate tower with a French Mansard modification. Hinshaw, a blacksmith and businessman in Knightstown, bought the tower house from W.M. Carey, one of the founders of Knightstown.

(Editor’s note: the home is currently owned by Knightstown council member Terry Guerin and is located just west of the National Road BP).

Jon Cryer, 18, son of successful playwright, actress and musician Gretchen Cryer and grandson of Mr. and Mrs. Bill Kiger of Dunreith, is following in his mother’s footsteps. He will be playing the young male lead in the Neil Simon Broadway Play “Brighton’s Beach Memoirs,” an autobiography of Simon’s life.

Tonya Rene Haase received a Bachelor of Arts degree in microbiology from Miami University during commencement exercises this month. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas R. Haase of R. 2, Knightstown.

A second suspect in the March 8 murder of Sunoco gas station attendant Early Dwayne Welch was brought back to New Castle and will now be charged. Thomas Alan Ernst, 35, was originally arrested in Kentucky after he was spotted hitchhiking. His name had been circulated to police departments nationwide. His alleged accomplice, Bobby Ray Cowan, 24, of Texas, had been held in the Henry County jail without bond. The two are charged with robbing and then killing Welch at the Sunoco Travel Mart, located at the southwest corner of the intersection of I-70 and SR 109.

The keys to the Knightstown Post Office were symbolically passed from Bill Alexander to Joseph Whalen last week when Whalen returned to Knightstown to resume his duties as postmaster. Whalen spent the last 11 months at the training center in Indianapolis. Alexander returns to his position as the postmaster at the Carthage Post Office.

Multiple students were given business awards during ceremonies at the school last week. Those honored included Brian Cavaletto, Kim Beavers, Joann Boling, Kelly Clark, Jolinda Coon, Lois Erwin, Rozel Gatmaitan, Tanya Hughes, Andy Moore, Cindy Morgan, Beth Munden, Candy Redmon, Anita Trimnell, Traci Tutrow, Linda Wallace, Missy White, Betty Willett, Michelle Sims, Shari Alexander, Charmi Bonne, Julie Coon, Cindy Gamble, Jill Grandison, Angie Lindsay, Mary Neal, Brad Ratliff, Kristin Willard, Liz Wyatt, Susan Davidson, Patty Irwin, Barbara Houchins, Lee Ann Wilson, Lana Gregory, Missy Stewart, Zina Wilson, Debbie Hulse, Laura Spence and Dawn McRoberts.


J. Douglas Reeves, director of drugstore operations for Hook’s Drugs, Inc., has been elected vice president by the firm’s board of directors, according to chairman August F. Hook. Reeves had been serving as an assistant vice president.

Peggy Mohler was crowned queen of the 1973 Knightstown High School prom. Her court included Jenny Beth Ellis, Mariana Stanley, Ruth Kilmer and Michele Wyatt.

Jubilee Days queen candidates for this year include Janet White, Lisa Brewer, Jenny Borror, Brenda Coffman, Catherine McGinnis, Tina Collins, Shirley Steurer, Merry Mayhill, Janie Caudill, Helen Richardson, Tamara Roell and Gambra Dennis.

Knightstown Elementary School major award winners included Wesley Watts, DAR Award; Patty Trimnell, Citizenship Award; Candy Lukens, school Spelling Champion; and Denise Owens, Essay Contest Winner. Danny Sullivan, Robin McCorkle and Eric Barns were also given special honors for their work with the safety patrol.


RETURN TO HOW TIME FLIES MAIN PAGE                                                                                     TOP OF PAGE