Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online

How Time Flies in News




 Willard Avery Honored for 50 Years of Law Practice in 1984


Barry W. Elzey, a near-lifelong Knightstown resident, was named Citizen of the Year during ceremonies at the Knightstown Chamber of Commerce banquet held last week at the American Legion ballroom. His father, Jules Elzey, present Barry with the award.

Knightstown attorney Willard Avery was honored by the Henry County bar association for practicing law in Henry County for 50 years. Judge Wesley W. Ratliff of the Indiana Court of Appeals, presented the plaque to Avery.

Business Leaders of Tomorrow (BLT) officers at Knightstown High School this year will include Toni Jackson, secretary; Laurie Towse, president; Candy Redmon, treasurer; and Jolinda Coon, vice president. The BLT is one of the largest clubs at the high school, with over 90 members.

The Knightstown High School Brain Brawl Team finished fourth in the annual Brain Brawl at Chrysler High School in New Castle. Team members are Mike Mosely, Sarah Newcomer, Gordon Schmidt and Missy White.

KHS drama club members will be putting on the three-act play “Rest Assured” this weekend. Starring cast members will include Rozel Gatmaitan, Laura Spence, Sarah Newcomer, Craig Waits, Bobby Grimm, Jenni Jarvis, Audrey Wilson, Brad Hutson, James Brummett, Ross Wells and Lisa Magee.

Local H&R Block owner Bill Gorman attended the annual H&R Block satellite convention held in Columbus.



John Steurer, son of Gilbert Steurer and Doris Brenan, both of Knightstown, competed in the 1982 Ohio Star Ball Dance Contest in Columbus, where he and his partner, Sandra Guthrie, brought home five first places. John is with Mason and Bush School of Dance located in Castleton Plaza in Indianapolis.

Brownie Scout Troop 693 visited Miller Dairy in Cambridge City last week. Members making the trip included Julie Hamm, Dusty Sitton, Amanda Nelson, Meghan McCullers, Amber Butcher, Carrie Livingston, Alysha Jones, Becky Hinton, Maggie Denton, Susie Polk, Julie Adams, Melissa Overby, Jayme Smith, Mary Wittkamper, Amanda Gurley and Kara Mofield. Leaders attending were Barbara Mofield, Donna Jones, Kathy Wittkamper, Joe Wittkamper and guests Nicholas Jones and David Jones.



The Knightstown Academy was placed on the National Register of Historic Places, protecting the building from demolition and opening up avenues of revenue for preservation efforts. Superintendent Ersel E. Burgess called the action a “miscarriage of democracy”, indicating the school board did not have any say in the affair.

The Academy building will now be eligible for matching grant money to assist local residents’ efforts to restore and preserve the historic structure.

School board members appointed an Agriculture Advisory Committee that will include Marty Matlock and George Roland from Ripley Township; Carl Martin and Tom Haase from Wayne Township; and William Wilson and Leland Kendall from Greensboro Township.

The board also appointed Allen Wade, Marisu Patton, Shirley Carroll, Evelyn Ellis, Albert Grimm and Von Williamson to the New Castle Area Vocational School Committee.

White Flash Auto Parts in Knightstown has completed its move to the west side of town. They will be located in the old American Motors Corp. building, on the north side of U.S. 40 across from Sunset Park.

Mrs. Wallace’s 7th grade history class conducted a mock election last week between the Nationalists and the Federalists. The Nationalists won, and their candidates were President Mark Carroll, Vice-President Scott Reeves, Governor Kurt Willis and Lt. Governor Russell Hammer. Federalist Party candidates were Laura Hollowell, Bobby Myers, Ray Meador and Jeff Moore.