Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online

How Time Flies in News




 Sandra Gray, Mark Lawrence Crowned Royalty at 1982 Prom


The Historic Knightstown Antique Mall opened for visitors for the first time in May. Mr. and Mrs. Earl Carter are the owners.

Sandra Gray and Mark Lawrence were crowned queen and king of the Knightstown High School prom last weekend. The Royalty Court included Gina Black, Laura Hollowell, Cathy Cunningham, Dana Queener, Chris Taylor, Steve Davidson, Steve Gregory and Jay Stearns.

Reigning over the prom festivities at Eastern Hancock were King Tim Deno and Queen Joni Edwards. Chris Harsh and Cindy Loveall were named king and queen of the Tri High prom.

The KHS Historical Society will host the annual state convention this month, where approximately 200 students from around the state are expected for the event. The KHS Historical Society officers include President Steve Turpin, Vice President Mary Wallace, Secretary Missy White, Treasurer Lisa Mercer and members Curtis Pell, Rozel Gatmaitan, Dick Sitler and Jamie Butler.

The Jump Rope for Heart contest was held at the Knightstown Elementary School and raised over $3,000. The team that topped all others in the fund-raiser consisted of Steve Walker, Charles Fort, Ross McMahan, Todd Sharp, Brett Walker and David Parham.

Knightstown High School senior Scott Reeves is one of 2,000 winners of the college-sponsored four-year merit scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Reeves, 17, is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Reeves of Knightstown.



Pat Goodspeed, a new resident in Knightstown, will show her champion Abyssinian cat “Sunstory Samantha” in the Hoosier Cat Fanciers’ Championship Show at the Indiana State Fairgrounds this weekend.

In an attractive setting of “A Night in New Orleans”, Knightstown High School crowned Cheri Ellis as queen of the 1972 KHS prom. Members of her court were Marita Roland, Jane Skillman, Cindy Stewart and Terre Ohlemiller.

Robert E. White and Robert L. Winters of Ripley Township, Douglas Reeves of Knightstown and Bill Wilson of Greensboro Township were winners of seats on the Charles A. Beard School Board at the recent election. On July 1, an unopposed Wilson will begin his 17th year of serving the community on the school board.



Larry Walda and David Brosius were among the 430 Indianapolis News carriers who visited Fort Knox recently. The trip was awarded to carriers to won recent contests through the newspaper.

Kappa Kappa Sigma of Carthage celebrated the 22nd anniversary of the sorority with a dinner meeting at the Greenfield Country Club Saturday night. Three charter members were present, including Vera McNabb, Gertrude Bash and Mary Tweedy. The committee in charged of arrangements was Mrs. Tweedy, Mrs. Bernice Tweedy and Marlene Miller.



From Wayne Township, 379 men between the ages of 45 and 65 registered Monday at the high school building in accordance with national executive orders.

Charlottesville is now without a barber shop for the first time in 75 years since Roy Trowbridge, who succeeded his father as a barber, has closed the shop because he was recently inducted into the U.S. Army.