Knightstown Banner Online

Search The Banner Online

How Time Flies in News




 Jami Ferrell Won Classroom Spelling Bee in 1984


Spelling Bee winners were announced at Knightstown Junior High and Kennard Elementary Schools last week. Eighth graders Gina Magee and Greg Geise were the winners at the junior high. Beth Whisman was the winner at Kennard, while Barbara Ballard was the runner-up. Individual room winners were Jami Ferrell, Paula McClure, Michelle Fields, Jason Cupp, Mike Magee, Patricia Jones and Ben Burton.

Knightstown eighth grade students Amy Merchant and Rachelle McCorkle returned home after serving as pages for State Representative Tom Coleman.

Rev. Robert T. Berkebile, pastor of the Knightstown United Methodist Church for the past 11 years, announced a pending transfer to an Indianapolis church.

Knightstown Elementary School science fair winners were Elizabeth Peyton, Tommy Crawford, Alison Dusang and Christy VanDuyn.

Brownie Troop 640 has been working to keep certain areas of Knightstown clean, picking up trash and sticks. Participating members include Carleen Rose, Bobbie Rhodes, Brandy Sitton, Shannon Reynolds, Kelly McClure, Maggie Miller, Rachel Kemp, Shanna Johnson, Esta Denny, Amanda Cavaletto, Laura Cathcart, Carrie Campbell, Kerri Butcher and Amy Brooks. Assisting were Alice Browning, Benjamin Brooks and troop leader Lois Brooks.



The Carthage town marshal and special deputies resigned earlier this week following ongoing disagreements with members of the town council. Special deputies John Trieschman, William Dawes and Benjamin Conley, as well as marshal William Servies, haded in their resignations to police commissioner Glen Fitch and the Carthage town board members last week.

Kyle Tweedy, an eighth grader at Knightstown Junior High School, won the school’s spelling bee last week. She placed third in the county and 35th in the state two years ago in the elementary school spelling bee.

Teresa Hall, daughter of John and Sharon Hall, was the winner of the Knightstown Elementary School annual spelling bee. Marc Bundy finished second, Christi Wright third and Kristen Willard fourth.

The KHS drama club will present four one-act plays this weekend involving more than 70 high school students. Leading roles will be played by Russell Hooker, Jill Skillman, Tim Wright, Karen Gregory, Annette Duffy, Debby Jackson, Kathy Kriner, Mike Nasby, Bill Davis, Bonnie Wilson, Jennifer Collins, David Phelps and Anna Wyatt.



Sherry McKain of Carthage and Annette Stout, Mays, were chosen as delegates to Girl’s State this year from their respective schools. Sharon Sammons and Rosemary Jackson are the alternate delegates from the schools.

Addition of the school in Center Township at Mays to the Rushville Consolidated School System has been approved by township officials. The resolution was signed by trustee Ishmael Knoy and board of directors members Clarence Dyer and Kenneth Lord. Joe White, a member of the board, refused to sign the resolution.

Everett E. Vanlandingham, freshman at Purdue University, was named the first winner of the Homer E. Schuman Alfalfa trophy. He was also the sweepstakes winner in alfalfa at the Indiana State Fair.